MAINE STATE BOARD OF NURSING LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS REGISTERED PROFESSIONAL NURSE – LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT/RECIPROCITY

The following information is the general information needed for licensure and does not reflect additional information that may be requested based on review of an application.

NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT

The State of Maine is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) which allows a registered nurse or practical nurse who holds an active multistate license to practice physically and/or virtually in other NLC states without applying for and obtaining an additional license. Visit www.nursecompact.com for a list of compact states. A nurse who does not meet the uniform licensure requirements is not eligible for a multistate license. To be eligible for a multistate license in Maine, Maine must be declared as your primary state of residence (PSOR) and evidence of such must be provided. If your PSOR is a compact state *other than Maine*, you are not eligible for Maine licensure. If your PSOR is a non-compact state, you may be eligible for single-state (Maine only) licensure. For compact purposes, the PSOR does not pertain to property ownership, schooling location, or work location; it is the state in which a person holds legal documents and is permanently domiciled.

APPLY FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT/RECIPROCITY

- 1) Go to the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u>. Select *I want to "apply for a license"* and follow the instructions. The non-refundable application fee is \$75.00. Applications must be completed by the applicant themselves; nobody is permitted to complete the application on behalf of the applicant.
- 2) Upload a recent, colored, unedited photograph that displays a clear, recognizable, full-face view (headshot). Must be forward-facing, have clear resolution and proper lighting. Do not use any filters or additions. No full-body shots, visibly inappropriate clothing, glasses glare or hats. No other people or objects in the background. Copies of passports, 2X2 passport-style photos, or copies of ID/badge photos will be rejected.
- 3) Full disclosure of **any** criminal history or professional disciplinary action is required during the application process **whether or not you were convicted**.
- 4) Go to the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u>, select "I Want to Obtain a Criminal Background Check" and follow the instructions listed. There is a \$52 fee for this process and results are only valid for 90 days, so coordinate appropriate timing with your examination.

INFORMATION FOR "YES" ANSWERS TO DISCIPLINARY QUESTIONS

- In response to any "yes" answers to questions regarding discipline, you are expected to disclose and explain your entire criminal offense history whether or not you were convicted.
- A signed and dated detailed letter of explanation is required, narrating the circumstances surrounding the criminal record or disciplinary action, rehabilitative changes since the time of the disciplinary action, and how you ensure that a similar situation will not be repeated. Once the application is processed, a checklist will be delivered indicating what supplemental documentation you are required to provide.
- Supporting court documents are required for any incidents that occurred less than 10 years ago

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

Maine State law authorizes the State Board of Nursing to require an applicant to complete the fingerprinting process for a criminal background check upon initial licensure. <u>IdentoGo</u> is the exclusive vendor that is responsible for processing your fingerprints. There is a fee associated with this process. Go to the <u>Maine State Board of Nursing website</u>. Select *I want to "obtain a criminal background check"* and follow the instructions. Please pay careful attention to IdentoGo instructions.

- Criminal background check results are only valid for **90 days**.
- The Maine Board of Nursing cannot accept fingerprint cards or criminal background check results mailed by you, or results that were completed for another facility, even if the previous check was completed through the Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- There is no crime listed in Maine State law that automatically disqualifies an applicant from becoming a Nurse, however the Board may consider whether the applicant has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust. Some factors that would be considered are the nature of the conviction, when it occurred, facts and circumstances surrounding the event, etc.

VERIFICATION OF LICENSE

- Verification of licensure is required through <u>NURSYS</u> if your original license was issued in a NURSYS participating state. There is a \$30 fee that must be paid via Visa or Master Card.
- If your license was issued by a state that does not participate in NURYS, contact the appropriate Board directly and request verification of licensure be provided to Maine State Board of Nursing.

FOREIGN APPLICANTS (educated outside of United States & Canada)

- Education/transcripts MUST be verified through TruMerit (formerly CGFNS) in the form of a CES Report if education is outside of United States or Canada AND applicant is not licensed in another US jurisdiction. We cannot accept verification/review through other entities (e.g., JSILNY).
- Verification of the education program cannot be received from the applicant.
- CES report is required for applicants with no other U.S. license or who have not completed the NCLEX examination.
- If an applicant's education was taught in a language other than English, they must submit a TOEFL report or have TruMerit verify that the TOEFL exam was passed. We cannot accept other English proficiency test results. If the NCLEX exam was successfully passed in English, then the applicant is not required to take the TOEFL exam.
- Effective May 22, 2023, applicants who have been educated in a foreign educational facility (in a country other than the United States and Canada), and who are seeking licensure in Maine from the Maine State Board of Nursing, must report ALL foreign (outside of the United States) licenses to be verified/validated through TruMerit and reported in the CES report.

OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT

• Transcripts may be required on a case-by-case basis after review of an application. If you are requested to contact your nursing program to submit a transcript, it should be mailed to Maine State Board of Nursing, 158 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333 or email to Endorsement.PFRNursing@maine.gov.

NCLEX-RN EXAMINATION

- The NCLEX-RN examination is required for all foreign applicants that have not taken the exam in another jurisdiction
- The NCLEX-RN is required for all Canadian applicants endorsing from Canada to Maine that have not already taken the NCLEX-RN examination.
- The NCLEX-RN may be required for Canadian applicants endorsing into Maine from other states that have never taken the NCLEX, depending on the Maine existing laws at the time the Canadian applicant endorsed into the United States.

UNITED STATES SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

You must have a United States Social Security Number (SSN) in order to be issued a Maine RN license.

- If you do not have a US SSN upon initial application, you must submit your SSN to be added to the application once it has been issued.
- If you submit a copy of your Social Security card, and your name has been abbreviated or changed, you will need to submit a copy of your birth certificate.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

- Applications are processed in the order they are received. Status of an application may be checked by going to www.maine.gov/boardofnursing. Select "I want to check the status of an application" and follow the instructions.
- After verifying an active Maine state license on the Board website, enrollment with <u>Nursys E-Notify</u> is recommended. Select "As a Nurse" to complete the registration process.
- A license will be emailed to the current email address on file with the Board.
- Maintain current contact information with the Maine State Board of Nursing. To update your information, go to www.maine.gov/boardofnursing and select the appropriate option in the "I want to" box.